Mower Scholarship and Fellowship

2021 Mower Scholar: Roy Z. Moger-Reischer

Roy Moger-Reischer is a 5th-year Ph.D. student in Professor Jay T. Lennon’s laboratory. Roy’s dissertation research is founded in experimental evolution. For each experiment, he designs a controlled environment for microorganisms in which the fundamental forces of evolution act over hundreds or even thousands of microbial generations. Using this strategy, he has tested hypotheses related to the evolution of longevity and the way that synthetic organisms evolve under the influence of genetic drift and natural selection.

During the summer of 2021 with the support of the Mower fellowship, Roy will complete his final dissertation experiment involving the evolution of designer probiotics.

Outside the laboratory, Roy enjoys the solitude of art, books, and music; the social engagement of video games; and the mind-opening of meditation and personal development.