Kindig Scholarship

2021 Kindig Scholar: Kyra Colston

Kyra Colston is a junior pursuing a B.S. in biology with a concentration in biology of disease and a minor in global health promotion. She is a member of Professor John Patton’s research team, where she studies various rotavirus strains. Outside of the lab, she is an undergraduate teaching assistant for the Department of Biology as well as a member of Phi Delta Epsilon and the Hutton Honors College. Kyra particularly enjoys volunteering at IU’s COVID-19 vaccination clinics. She plans to attend medical school and promote the integration of primary care and public health. She is thankful for the constant support of her friends, family, and mentors.

2021 Kindig Scholar: Zoe Fifer

Zoe Fifer is a junior at IU Bloomington pursuing a B.S. in biology with a minor in chemistry. She is a member of the Hutton Honors College and plans to graduate in Spring 2022 with the HHC notation. In her free time, she volunteers with a local school corporation to help tutor middle school students in various subjects. Upon graduation, Zoe plans to attend physician assistant school.

2021 Kindig Scholar: Rebecca L McAvoy

Rebecca L McAvoy is majoring in neuroscience and biology with an area of concentration in cell biology and molecular genetics. She conducts research in Professor Dan Tracey’s laboratory under the mentorship of Associate Scientist Stephanie Mauthner studying the molecular mechanisms that allow glia to contribute to behavior. In addition to being a member of the IU research programs IFLE and STARS, Rebecca’s research achievements include being an IU nominee for the Goldwater Scholarship and receiving funding through the Hutton Honors College Research Partnership Grant and Drs. Sidney and Becca Fleischer Research Scholarship. After graduating from IU, Rebecca plans to pursue a Ph.D. in neuroscience or neurobiology and a career as a research scientist studying the molecular mechanisms of behavior.