Department of Biology Emergency Fund

Department of Biology Emergency Fund

Limited emergency funds may be available within Biology from the relevant graduate programs and/or the department, including the Marcus Rhoades Memorial Fund. (Find other sources of emergency financial assistance.)

The Marcus Rhoades Memorial Fund was established in 1992 by Virginia Hatcher Rhoades to honor her husband. Marcus M. Rhoades (1903-1991) joined our faculty as chair of the Botany Department in 1958. He held that position until 1968, when he was named a distinguished professor. Rhoades was well known for his research on maize cytogenetics. He was elected a Fellow of the National Academy of Sciences, the American Philosophical Society, and the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. In 1988, he and Barbara McClintock were the first recipients of the Genetics Society of America’s Thomas Hunt Morgan Medal.


Graduate students with a declared major from the IUB Department of Biology. Available one time per student to graduate students who are in critical financial emergency situations.

Award amount

From $100 to $500—one time per student