Ruesink Outstanding Associate Instructor Teaching Award

Albert Ruesink Outstanding Associate Instructor Teaching Award in Biology

Al Ruesink’s family, friends, colleagues, and former students who wish to honor his passion for quality teaching can make an online memorial gift to the Ruesink Outstanding Instructor Teaching Award in Biology by clicking the Give Now button which links to a secure IU Foundation website.

Give now

2020 Ruesink Outstanding Associate Instructor: Audrey Parish

Audrey Parish is a third-year Ph.D. candidate in Associate Professor Irene Newton's lab at Indiana University Bloomington. Audrey studies mechanisms of host-microbe interactions in the honey bee, focusing on a novel nutritional mutualism between honey bee larvae and their symbiotic bacteria. Before graduate school Audrey served as a lab manager at the University of Houston, mentoring undergraduate researchers from a variety of backgrounds and academic trajectories. At IU, Audrey has enjoyed teaching both introductory and advanced-level biology courses and endeavors to employ an individualistic mentoring style, both in the lab and in the classroom. She strives to convey that anyone can participate in science and believes that one's unique background and perspective are essential components in making a great scientist.

About the Albert Ruesink Outstanding Associate Instructor Teaching Award in Biology

This fund supports an annual award that promotes and recognizes excellent teaching by graduate students teaching in the IU Bloomington Department of Biology. Candidates must be Department of Biology majors or related majors who have been selected for the award because of their teaching within the Department of Biology. The annual award shall be a minimum of $1,500 per year, and the number of recipients each year should never exceed three. Should sufficient income be available after the teaching award is granted, this fund could also be used to send departmental graduate students to conferences primarily related to teaching, with preference given to students presenting papers or posters at these conferences.

This award was established in 2013 by Albert and Kathy Ruesink. During their careers at Indiana University, the couple mentored thousands of students.