Microbiology Undergraduate Summer Research Award

Microbiology Undergraduate Summer Research Award

Thanks to the contributions of donors like you, microbiology undergraduates can jumpstart their research careers.

Give now

This award was established by Professor Emeritus L.S. McClung and his friends in 1989.

About Leland S. McClung, Ph.D.

Professor Leland S. McClung, Ph.D., came to Indiana University in 1940, where he excelled as a professor, administrator, and researcher. McClung, who was internationally known for his research on anaerobic bacteria, created and then led for 25 years the Department of Bacteriology, which has now evolved into our microbiology program. In addition to building a model curriculum, McClung recruited prominent scientists for the department; the first faculty member he hired, Salvadore Luria, later became a Nobel Laureate.

According to Gary Sojka, former chair of Biology, “Professor McClung’s administrative talents were widely recognized, appreciated, and sought after outside Indiana University.” Among his many esteemed positions, McClung was Vice President of the Society of Industrial Microbiology in 1958, President of the National Association for Biology Teachers in 1965, and the Archivist for the American Society for Microbiology. He also conducted numerous highly acclaimed summer institutes supported by the National Science Foundation that trained high school biology teachers in microbiology. Because of his experience running these institutes, the NSF later asked him to serve as a consultant to Taiwan and India. In 1980, he was awarded an honorary membership to the American Society of Microbiologists, one of the society’s highest distinctions.

2023 Microbiology Undergraduate Summer Research Scholar: Lindsey Way

Lindsay is a junior majoring in Microbiology and Middle Eastern Languages and Cultures. She is a member of Assistant Professor Xindan Wang’s lab where she studies chromosome organization in B. subtilis and E. coli. Lindsay plans to pursue a PhD in Molecular Biology and a career in academia.

2023 Microbiology Undergraduate Summer Research Scholar: Tristan Young

Tristan is a microbiology major, planning to attend either medical school or graduate school. He is researching bacterial motility in Professor Dan Kearns’ lab. Tristan is secretary of the IU Microbiology Club. This award will allow him to put more focus on his work in the lab.

About the Microbiology Undergraduate Summer Research Award

The Microbiology Undergraduate Summer Research Award was established by the late Leland S. McClung in 1989. The award assists a student conducting scientific laboratory research under the guidance of a faculty mentor. Dr. McClung believed that independent research was crucial to the success of an undergraduate.

The Microbiology Undergraduate Summer Research Award is open to undergraduate microbiology majors who are performing independent research on the Bloomington campus during the summer. First preference is given to students who have received the L.S. McClung Scholarship. Recipients are required to write a publishable manuscript that reports the results of their research.