McClung Scholarship

Dr. L.S. McClung Scholarship in Microbiology

Thanks to donors like you, the Dr. L.S. McClung Scholarship continues to generate income to support promising students.

Give now

This award was established in 1987 by Cornelius F. Sterling (BA Bacteriology, 1942) to honor Dr. McClung.

About Leland S. McClung, Ph.D.

Professor Leland S. McClung, Ph.D., came to Indiana University in 1940, where he excelled as a professor, administrator, and researcher. McClung, who was internationally known for his research on anaerobic bacteria, created and then led for 25 years the Department of Bacteriology, which has now evolved into our microbiology program. In addition to building a model curriculum, McClung recruited prominent scientists for the department; the first faculty member he hired, Salvadore Luria, later became a Nobel Laureate.

According to Gary Sojka, former chair of Biology, “Professor McClung’s administrative talents were widely recognzied, appreciated, and sought after outside Indiana University.” Among his many esteemed positions, McClung was Vice President of the Society of Industrial Microbiology in 1958, President of the National Association for Biology Teachers in 1965, and the Archivist for the American Society for Microbiology. He also conducted numerous highly acclaimed summer institutes supported by the National Science Foundation that trained high school biology teachers in microbiology. Because of his experience running these institutes, the NSF later asked him to serve as a consultant to Taiwan and India. In 1980, he was awarded an honorary membership to the American Society of Microbiologists, one of the society’s highest distinctions.

2022 Dr. L.S. McClung Scholar: Abigael "Abby" Frederick

Abigael "Abby" Frederick is a third-year undergraduate student pursuing a B.S. in microbiology and minoring in chemistry. She works in Associate Professor Dean Rowe-Magnus's microbiology lab as a research associate,determining the minimum inhibitory concentration of antimicrobial peptides, engineered by Dr. Rowe-Magnus and Dr. Kao, against clinically relevant antibiotic-resistant human pathogens. In addition, Abby is interning in the Drug Discovery and Development department for Eli Lilly in Indianapolis during the summer of 2022. Outside of her research, Abby is a member of the Hutton Honors Council Association, HFGLA (Hutton First Generation), Sole Hope at Indiana University, and Vice President of Programming for the Swim Club at Indiana University. She is interested in working in a research lab for autoimmune disorders and would eventually like to teach at the university level.

About the Dr. L.S. McClung Scholarship

The McClung Scholarship was established in 1987 by Cornelius "Con" F. Sterling. Sterling earned his B.A. in 1942. He was the first Indiana University undergraduate to receive a degree in bacteriology, the precursor to our current microbiology program. The award honors Professor L.S. McClung, who was chair of the Bacteriology Department when Sterling was a student.

The scholarship is available to in-state microbiology majors who excel academically and plan to work in the field of or pursue a graduate degree in microbiology.