Outstanding Honors Thesis Award Undergraduate Requirements

Outstanding Honors Thesis Award

The department annually recognizes a Department of Biology undergraduate major in the Honors Program who has the best Honors Thesis.


Not open for applications; the department asks faculty members to nominate Department of Biology undergraduates who are writing exemplary Honors Theses.

Radhika Agarwal, 2015 Outstanding Honors Thesis Award Recipient

Radhika Agarwal graduated in the spring of 2015 with a B.S. in Biochemistry and Biology, and with minors in mathematics and Spanish. Her thesis, “Flagellar Mutations Stimulate Adhesion Expression in Caulobacter crescentus,” was based on research she did in the Brun lab. Radhika was named a 2011 Herman B Wells Scholar, an IU Founder’s Scholar, was named to the College of Arts and Sciences Dean’s List, and was inducted into the Phi Beta Kappa Society, the nation’s oldest academic honor society in existence. In 2014, she received the Malcolm A. Kochert Scholarship, one of the College of Arts and Sciences’ Senior Scholarships. This year, Radhika received an IU Senior Recognition Award, the Kate Hevner Mueller Award, that is given to those seniors who have proven leadership on campus, both inside and outside the classroom. In the fall, she will attend Harvard Medical School through the Harvard-MIT Health Sciences & Technology (HST) program, and hopes to one day impact change as a physician and scientist.