Marcus Rhoades Memorial Fund

Marcus Rhoades Memorial Fund

The Marcus Rhoades Memorial Fund was established in 1992 by Virginia Hatcher Rhoades to honor her husband. Marcus M. Rhoades (1903-1991) joined our faculty as chair of the Botany Department in 1958. He held that position until 1968, when he was named a distinguished professor. Rhoades was well known for his research on maize cytogenetics. He was elected a Fellow of the National Academy of Sciences, the American Philosophical Society, and the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. In 1988, he and Barbara McClintock were the first recipients of the Genetics Society of America’s Thomas Hunt Morgan Medal.


Graduate students with a declared major from the IUB Department of Biology. Only available to those graduate students who are in critical “financial emergency” situations for which no other laboratory funds are available.


Up to $500.